Why I decided to create my photo organizer

Why I decided to create my photo organizer

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

As a child, I used to flip through a family photo album to see my relatives whom I had not seen in real life.
At that time we had film cameras only, so the number of photos was not so large.

Time has passed and currently, let's say, almost everyone owns a camera or a smartphone with a camera, or even both.
Given that, the size of my photo album increased significantly. However, I think it's not just for me.

An average family photo album

Once my friend and I decided to recall an event we both attended. We took my photo album and tried to search there.
At that time my album kept more than 30 thousand items inside. That search process looked like

GIF

A search in photo album with 30 thousand photos

Of course, we didn't find anything. Therefore, I started looking for a solution to be able to search in Multimedia Data automatically.
The solution I found were Multimedia IR systems.

I decided to use digiKam as Offline Multimedia IR systems
and Synology Moments as Online Multimedia IR Systems.
Please note, that they were selected solely based on the author's criteria, and there is no aim to advertise to anyone.

Then I started using it...

What I discovered in a flash is that current Multimedia IR systems do not provide a flexible and automated functionality to import Multimedia Data into Multimedia IR systems.

But that wasn't the only problem.

I realized that I need Multimedia Organizer as well.
Unfortunately, I didn't find a Multimedia Organizer that could fully satisfy my needs (fixing problem metadata, working with digiKam and Synology etc.)
That's why I started creating my product to cover my needs.

Honestly, I didn't expect that it would be so hard and in the meantime so interesting.